Controller or Wheel?

Just curious as to what everyone is using to control their steed in Forza and other racing games....

I've always used a wheel since I began sim racing in 2005 with GTR on PC. I know I'm no pro by any means, but to me it is just more involved and fun even when your not winning (which is the norm for me :) ). I've tried the controller several times and I can keep the car on track but in no way can push it fast... practice I guess, but that would take wheel time away. :awesome:

Been using the same Playseat since 05 but am in the process of building a better rig using the Sparco chair I already have. The playseat was never designed for a remote gear shifter and it is awkward to say the least, so hopefully I can get a better setup for the H gate when I'm done.

As for the wheel, I'm now using the newer Logitech G920. I've removed the pedals from the board and custom mounted them which helps a ton. A great setup for the money, although I think the Thrustmaster TMX would be as good as long as you got the three pedal optional set instead of the cheesy one thats packaged with it. Both these fail in comparison the Fanatec setup I had for xbox 360, but since nothing ever carries over to new systems I ended up selling my clubsport setup on ebay for a good buck, (although nowhere near what I paid for it).

I may have a chairless playseat setup soon if anyone is interested in it. It would be free of charge, minus shipping... I'll post more about it once I get my other cockpit built. As far as I know, I only plan on using the seat from the package so it will be complete other than the chair. :)

Comments

• So, been running hot laps quite a bit and the wheel is definitely a blast, but also a handicap in its own way... especially on COTA West.